Jun 4, 2012

Award winners

Nine Central Lakes College students from the Staples campus have earned awards in graphic design and photography competition sponsored by the St. Cloud-based Advertising/Marketing Federation of Central Minnesota. Selection of the most creative entries is effected by a scoring process in which a panel of judges evaluates all creative dimensions of every entry. A Gold ADDY® Award is recognition of the highest level of creative excellence and is judged to be superior to all other entries in the competition. Entries that are also considered outstanding and worthy of recognition receive a Silver ADDY® Award. The number of awards given in each category is determined by the judges, based on the relative quality of work in that category.

Josephine Anundsen of Sartell won a Gold ADDY® in photography for an image titled “Welcome to the Apocalypse.”She is a student in Photographic Imaging Technology who last year earned Silver for her photography.
ADDY-winning students from the CLC Communication Art and Design program were Brandon Plum, Pequot Lakes, and Chelsey Hansen, St. Cloud, with Silvers in logo competition; and Kimberly Bollig, Aldrich, with Silver in Digitally Enhanced Photography.
CLC Photographic Imaging Technology students who won Silver awards were Jessi Sawyer, Pine River; Megan Billings (2), Silver Bay; Brandi Jerby, Wadena; and Megan Maki, Crookston.
Ken Heppner, Warroad, is an Associate in Arts degree student who won Silver in photography.
The ADDY® Awards are the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition, attracting over 50,000 entries every year in local ADDY competitions.
The mission of the ADDY competition is to recognize and reward creative excellence in the art of advertising. Conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation (AAF), the local ADDY Awards provide the first of a three-tier, national competition. Concurrently, all across the country, local entrants vie for recognition as the very best in their markets.
At the second tier, local winners compete against other winners in one of 14 District competitions. District winners are then forwarded to the third tier, the national ADDY Awards competition.