Oct 17, 2012

Educator of Year nominations

Nominations are open until Nov. 7 for a prestigious statewide college and university teaching award that since 2008 has included faculty from Central Lakes College in Brainerd and Staples. The Minnesota State College and Universities Board of Trustees Educator of the Year Award for Excellence in Teaching is an honor bestowed upon MnSCU faculty to acknowledge and reward exceptional individual professional accomplishment, and to encourage ongoing excellence, in teaching.  This award is intended to recognize superior teaching at our colleges and universities. The award proclaims, on behalf of the entire system, the Board of Trustees’ pride in the dedication and accomplishment of our faculty in providing instruction that prepares Minnesota’s college and university students for their professional, scholarly, and civic lives.

All faculty who are currently full-time and unlimited, tenured, or tenure-track, and who have at least three years of full-time teaching service at their home institution are eligible for this award. Faculty, however, may not self-nominate.

Nominators must be members of the college or university community: faculty, administrators, students, staff, or community members.

Faculty who are designated as Outstanding Educators by their campus president must prepare a teaching portfolio which will be reviewed by a system-wide review committee. This committee will recommend the Educator of the Year award winners.

Past Central Lakes College recipients: Jan Kurtz, Spanish, 2008; Kari Frisch, Speech, 2009; Gary Carson, Natural Resources, and Janet Bedard, English and Reading, 2010; Nancy Smith, Health, and Betsy Picciano, Reading, and Director of Secondary Relations, 2011;  Steve Anderson, Music, and Martha Kuehn, Psychology, 2012.

For information or to nominate up to two CLC instructors for the 2013 award, contact Jean Mershon at (218) 855-8000, Ext. 8330 or e-mail jmershon@clcmn.edu