Apr 20, 2011

Picciano honored

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees Wednesday presented the system’s highest academic honor, the Educator of the Year Award, to four faculty members from Central Lakes College, Inver Hills Community College, Rochester Community and Technical College, and Ridgewater College. The four honorees were selected from among 33 Board of Trustees Outstanding Educators in the Board of Trustees Excellence in Teaching award program. They are Elizabeth "Betsy" Picciano of Central Lakes College, David I. Page of Inver Hills Community College, Pamela Anne Tranby of Riverland Community College, and Catherine Egenberger of Rochester Community and Technical College. "The nomination and selection process is very rigorous and participants face tough competition from their colleagues throughout the MnSCU System," said Larry Lundblad, president of Central Lakes College, who attended the event after nominating Betsy and fellow instructor Nancy Smith. "We are proud of our nominees and congratulated Betsy on her exceptional honor." Picciano is an instructor of reading and college and career studies at CLC. Reviewers said her enthusiasm for educating students jumps off the pages of her portfolio. "She’s the type of instructor who can push her students in ways they didn’t know they could be pushed," the Selection Committee announcement said. "Her classroom techniques and ideas for serving the institution are ones that any teacher would want to borrow." Betsy's use of the “InterviewStream” technology, was cited as helping students prepare carefully and realistically for getting a job. "She helps students understand their own strengths. Her use of a 'contract' teaches students the meaning of commitment and responsibility." See video acceptance speech: http://vimeo.com/24280351 and profile of the four honorees: http://vimeo.com/22912562 as well as photos: https://picasaweb.google.com/114422288629056089892/2011BOTAwardsEventPhotos#